5 Key Things I learned in my 20’s

1. Use your 20’s to build a foundation for your 70’s. Create deep roots that will give you a foundation for when you are older. Finishing well means starting well.

2. Don’t worry about climbing the ladder. There’s no longer a ladder anyway. It’s more like one of those spiral staircases. And sometimes you are going across or down when you think you might be climbing. So don’t worry about it. Spend your 20’s learning and having life experiences. Travel, explore the world, take on projects that seem fun.

3. If your “career” path doesn’t make sense to anyone except for you, it’s okay. My 20’s: college at University of Oklahoma, wrangler on a guest ranch in Colorado, management consultant, business development officer, Magazine and media company, strategic business plan developer. WOW. That is all over the map. But God was orchestrating steps very clearly for what was next in my story. And continues to do so.

4. Be diligent and aggressive in developing your friendships and relationships. Create a core group of close friends who you want to do like with. This group may change a bit over the years, but it is imperative to find a circle of trust that you are committed to and they to you.

5. Figure out who you want to be, not what you want to do. Who you are is more important that what you do or where you live. Spiritually, financially, family, emotionally, relationally. Find two or three older, wise “sages” that you can learn from and count on as help.

7 Responses

  1. Love you post, filled with great advice. Right after reading it, someone sent me this on FB. Inspiring video message on finishing well.

    http://tinyurl.com/mmnbk9

    Can’t wait till Catalyst next week!

  2. Brad,

    Thanks for this list. I’ve been told a handful of the things you’ve posted and have been more focused on doing the above…this helped reinforce it.

    Also…wish I could be there next week, but my wife will be going into labor next week! maybe next year…or maybe you’ll need some help again with west coast…always looking for an excuse to go to cali.

    Hope all is well bro.

  3. Brad,

    You are so right. Great post — and very reflective for me. I’m staring down age 32 come December 1st. I’m told the 30s are the best decade of your life. We’ll see.

    –Terrace Crawford
    http://www.terracecrawford.com
    http://www.twitter.com/terracecrawford

  4. Awesome stuff. I am glad I found this.

  5. Great post. Number five is so fundamentally important and unfulfilled in my own life until recently (in my mid 30s). Do you have advice for how to identify sages? And more importantly how to develop these mentoring relationships. This whole post is far-sighted and wise–I wish I were those in my 20s!

  6. 6. Screw up. Fail. Get used to it so you can experience grace and leave fear behind.

  7. Good stuff, Brad. I know you guys are crazy busy with Catalyst. I know it will be an amazing year – you’re a great job. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

